Rosemary Lemonade Ice Lollies

Last month I was the hostess for a baby shower thrown for my sister-in-law.  I wanted to pull together an interesting spread of food and tasty treats and went to one of my go-to lifestyle blogs, A Beautiful Mess, for inspiration.  They have inspiration coming out of the wazoo (literally – their wazoos are full) and I never cease to be amazed at all they offer.  But what I really wanted was a beautiful looking and fresh tasting lemonade.  I spotted their Rosemary Lemonade recipe and gave it a go.  It was a huge hit.  Genuinely.  It looked and tasted great.

I won’t mention my cake pops.   May they be archived and forgotten in Pinterest fail folklore.  Forever.

I’ve been wanting to find an excuse to make the lemonade since then.  Call it pregnancy hormones or Mummy guilt, but over the weekend I decided to embark on a lemonade making journey with the Duchess that might inject our spirits with a shot of summer since that mystical season still seems to allude us.  But instead of just making lemonade, I decided we’d turn that citric concoction into ice lollies .

SONY DSC

All you need is:

5-6 lemonades
fresh rosemary
sugar
ice lolly moulds – we got them nice and cheap at Sainsburys for around £2.

SONY DSC

It helps if your clothes match the lemons.

SONY DSC

Half the lemons and juice them.  Again, if you don’t have a juice squeezer – you can always hand squeeze or we picked this up from Asda for the cheap and cheerful price of £1 and it’s safe for little hands.  Once the lemons are freshly squeezed, decant the juice into a jug until the next step.

SONY DSC

Gently boil 1 1/2 cups of water on medium heat and add 1 cup of sugar.  Heat until all of the sugar has dissolved.  When all of the sugar has dissolved, remove the saucepan from the heat and add a fresh sprig of rosemary.  Let it sit until the water cools and then remove the rosemary.    I let the rosemary sit for quite a bit to make sure it really infused into the water.
SONY DSC

Add the lemon juice to the water.   While I don’t mind a bit of pulp in my lemonade, I didn’t want it in my ice lollies, so I sieved the juice when adding it to the water to make sure we’d get a smooth, no bits kind of liquid.  I then went on to add about 6 cups of water to taste.  That will be down to your personal preference as I don’t like my lemonade to be too sharp.  Once it was nice and cool, we poured the lemonade into our ice lolly moulds and left them to freeze.

The result?  Summer in your mouth.  So delicious.  They would definitely be made better with some blazing sunshine, but we’ll indulge now with the hopes that we get our chance to try them while sitting in the sunshine sometime soon.

SONY DSC

I question who the more sensible one is in this relationship.

Leave a Reply

