Choosing Not to Plan It All

I moved down to Somerset and The Native and I were still in the early stages of our relationship.  We had been getting to know each other long distance for a number of months and now were finally in the same place where we could venture beyond the shallow waters of the beginning stages of a relationship, to the dark, murky waters of properly getting to know each other, unearthing the good and bad of what would lie beneath.

One summer’s evening he turned to me with a smile on his face and said, “Come on!  Let’s take a drive.”  On the spur of the moment he had decided to hop into the car and drive up into the picturesque hills of Somerset to try and catch the sunset.

And that is when he found out I don’t do well with spontaneity.

We were in the car and I questioned where we were going, how long the drive would be and doubted that we’d make it there for sunset.  Yeah, I know.  I hate myself for it, too.

There are things to plan for – a family, a marriage, buying a home, your work week – sunsets should not be on that list.

Time hasn’t entirely changed my hesitancy to throw my arms up in the air, toss my head back and enjoy the ride, but being with The Native has made me more aware of the things in my life I need to refine – like letting go sometimes.

So today when we made our way to a local lake and The Native had decided that it was time to go home, you can imagine my surprise when some women’s voice, that sounded very much like mine, rose from my throat and said, “No.  Let’s stay and let’s go out on a boat.”  It was beyond nap-time, I had weekend work to get back to, we were going to put a 1 year old in a capsize-able boat in freezing water.

It ended up being one of the best days we’ve had in the last 12 months.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

