Meals We Make: Simple Sausages and Roasted Vegetables

I am not a food blogger.  My knives are so blunt I would happily hand one over to The Duchess to do some digging in her sand table.  In fact, should Gordon Ramsay ever attempt to use my kitchen knives, he would skip his typical effing and blinding for the better option of stabbing me in a fit of blunt-knife-induced rage  That is, until he realized that their ineptitude also applies to weaponry.

I don’t flambé or reduce or whip up a succulent red wine jus.   I don’t stray too far away from a recipe and I DEFINITELY do not create my own.  Last time that happened, we had a dessert that resembled a poo and tasted like cinnamon flavoured dirt.

You see, what I am is a working mother to a toddler. The child has the hunger grumps by the time I get home, or as The Sister says, she is hangry. This is about survival, my friends.  It is the pre-dinner dance. We waltz around the kitchen with her little legs trying to match the pace and rhythm of mine.  I cook.  She claws at my legs.  I stir.  She shouts, “up.  Up.  UP.  UP!  UUUUUUUP!”  I sauté.  She sticks her head in between my knees.  And then we repeat this…..1, 2, 3…..1, 2, 3.  My goals are simple: 1) Prepare a meal without having my pants pulled down 2) Cook something that doesn’t look or taste like a poo.

Over the last few months The Native and I have done our best to create a list of meals that we have tried, prioritizing what is easy, what is cheap, and how long things take.   And yes, there was a spreadsheet involved.  What?!   That’s not complicated.  Like JUS wouldn’t?!    (I was DYING to throw that in there).

So, when I was in the hair salon recently, flicking through the September copy of Easy Living and saw this recipe, I thought…..ahem….easy.  (Perhaps the clue is in the name.)

Prep time: 10-15 minutes.  Apprxm 1 round with the toddler.

Difficulty: Really easy (living)

Cost: As cheap as a Lidl’s perfume, £5.50 – £6.70 ($8.50 – $10.60)

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 large sausages
  • 2 red peppers
  • 2 red onions
  • 1 butternut squash
  • rosemary
  • olive oil

Pre-heat your oven to 200* (Gas Mark 6, 390*F).  De-seed and cut the red peppers into chunks.  Peel and de-seed the buttnernut squash and cut that bad boy into chunks, too (apprxm size – 1 inch).  I used about half of the squash and save the rest for another recipe.  Slice the red onions into eighths, because I’m not so keen on shoving whole quarters of red onion into my gob.  Are you?!

….Really?

……To each their own.

Place all of the vegetables in the bottom of the Pyrex dish you got as a wedding present.  Plop the sausages (for what else can you do with sausages but plop) on top, along with a few sprigs of rosemary.  We used Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference Bramley Apple Pork Sausages.  The sweetness of the apple was really nice with the subtle sweetness of the vegetables.  If you can’t find sausages with apple in them (ahem: America), why not pull that spare apple out of your fridge, peel it and chuck it in.  I promise it will really add something!

Image

There she blows, ploppy sausages and all. Ready to go in the oven.

Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Pop that sucker into the oven for 40 minutes.  Take the dish out.  Turn the sausages and cook for another 5 minutes, if needed.   And voilà.  Your working-woman, Mum-of-a-toddler no-fuss, very-brief-pre-dinner-dance dish.

You can serve it with a toasted roll or on top of some mash.  Yes, pleeeeease.

Look up more recipes on Easy Living.

4 thoughts on “Meals We Make: Simple Sausages and Roasted Vegetables

      1. bayta

        It’s super yummy! I used sweet potatoes rather than butternut squash (my local shop didn’t have any) and that worked well too.

Leave a Reply

