Making a House a Home: Bare Walls

This is a link up!

The Life of a Repeat Renter series continues.  The theme this time around is bare walls and, personally, I’m still in the nursery.  We live in a two bedroom Victorian house and the rooms are pretty spacious.  I especially love that the nursery is so big because it means that when the weather is horrible like it has been recently, (read: if the sky is like a bladder then someone has been whizzing on the green hills of Southwest England for weeks) we aren’t just confined to the downstairs.  It’s a different space and a space she will happily play in for as long as I let her.  The problem with the space is that we get these long, bare walls that make the room feel empty and boring.

Blah, isn’t it?

Because it’s her room, I’d love for it to interest her and engage her without being froofy.   I was just about to apologize that froofy isn’t a word and then I googled it and, lo and behold, it’s in the Urban Dictionary and the definition is spot on.  I am SO down with the kids.

Ages ago, I nipped into an independent shop in town and found these amazing, non-froofy, 1930’s inspired alphabet cards produced by Cavallini & Co.  I’m not going to call them vintage because, to me, that means it’s ACTUALLY from an bygone era.   And it was like the shop owner had imagined The Duchess’s nursery and had set out the products specifically for me because next to it was Cavallini & Co Can o’ Clips.  Say that three times fast.  If I tried that in my new retainer, spittle would be flying everywhere.  The Can o’ Clips are adorable miniature wooden pegs that could be used for an absolutely ridiculous number of projects and I bought two because with 26 letters in the alphabet, 24 pegs wasn’t going to cut it.

I had some twine at home and knew that I wanted to use these cards as a sort of simple alphabet bunting.  Our landlord is pretty understanding so I was able to attach the twine to picture hooks on either side, but if your landlord isn’t so keen on holes then you could use the adhesive hooks instead.  The adhesive should scrub away with sugar soap  (TSP for my American friends).

The project probably took me 20 minutes to get everything up, attached and positioned just right.  I’m really happy with the result.  Even if it does still need a good lick of paint, we’re heading in the right direction.

The best part is that The Duchess adores them and seems to think there is a book on her wall.  She is in bookworm heaven.

Reading the wall.

Big walls can be hard to dress up.  Here are some other inspirational ideas on how to create eye-catching bunting:

Martha Stewart puts another spin on bookworm bunting.

 Adorable, fun – It’s bunting that sends a message.  You can find more of Amy’s ideas at sweet sweet life.

 And while you’ll find this on a wedding website, how romantic would it be to use these light, airy colours and delicate fabrics to create a piece to hang over your headboard?  I want to do it….like right this very second.  Might struggle to find a haberdashery open after 10pm though.  

Hope you’ve been inspired.  Feel free to link up, whether it’s bunting or a different interpretation of what to do with those bare walls, and see if you can help to inspire others.

The link up will open on Wednesday 2nd May and close Saturday 26th May.  

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

One thought on “Making a House a Home: Bare Walls

Leave a Reply

