Those First Steps

This last week has been a big one in the Expat household.  On Monday The Duchess took her first steps.  I’m not going to lie, I was curled up on the sofa and entirely enamoured in an episode of  Four in a Bed and she was just standing in the middle of the lounge gripping a breadstick, so I wasn’t really expecting it.  That breadstick must’ve been full of slow release energy because without any prompting she was all, “Okay, now I’m going to walk.”  How does that happen?!

My adrenaline started pumping (I’m very easily excited, so nearly had a massive coronary) and I started leaping around the room.  She’s used to me so she just  shrugged off my wild flailing.  Thankfully, I got the little performing monkey to do it again – sans breadstick – so I could immediately show it to The Native, who was at work, and to my family in the States and to anyone else within a 20 foot radius who was then made to watch it eight, nine, seventeen times.

It’s funny how excited you can get about something you were pretty sure was always going to happen – something so simple – and yet in the expected and simple I was completely and utterly amazed.  I hope I never, ever tire of watching those things.  What a privilege.

Oh, and you’ll definitely want to turn your volume down if you watch The Duchess in all of her walking glory.  You can’t put volume control on a mother’s excitement.

10 thoughts on “Those First Steps

  1. littlemumma

    Little Miss took her first steps last week as well, so I know exactly how you feel right now!

    Reply
      1. littlemumma

        It certainly is! We’re now patiently waiting for her to realise she can do it full time 🙂

  2. Grams

    At this point, I have watched it a minimum of 20 times and have proudly showed the video to everyone within my sight which probably equals another 20x.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

