Ma-Ma-Ma-Ma-Ma Mama

Today is Mother’s Day in the UK, but that day won’t happen in the US until May.  I woke up to The Native offering me a cuppa in bed and handing me the tablet.  I suspected he wanted me to find something and so headed over to my facebook page where he had posted the little video above.  Cute.  And I kid you not, the kid has said “Mama” for the first time today.  It may be as a result of listening to Kanye over and over again (we ARE excellent parents), but I’ll take it.

Ms Xpat, author of Tiger Tales, and a fellow expat mama has tagged me in a meme about motherhood.  I couldn’t think of a better day to do a little reflecting.

Describe Motherhood in three words?

Humbling, Overwhelmingly good

Does your experience differ from your mother’s? How?

She raised all three of us in a pretty conservative pocket of the Midwest in America with close support from her own very large family.  Because it was such a large family, we were always around cousins growing up; there were about 25 of us on her side alone.  I am raising a child that is going to have a British accent.  I think that says sums it up, don’t you?

What’s the hardest thing about being a mum?

Knowing that the unavoidable things in life like heartache, a friend’s betrayal, or sadness caused by the hands of others will happen and I won’t be able to stop it.  You can get over most illnesses, but sometimes things like that stick with you forever.  I hope that what she’ll remember most is that we loved her hard while she rode it out.

What’s the best thing?

The insane amount of joy and pride I get from everything she does.  Sometimes that’s a milestone she’s achieved, other times it’s a really impressive toot.

How has it changed you?

How has it not?  I think being a Mom makes me more aware of the things I need to work on in myself.  She has made me more patient and more aware of my impatience all at once.  She has made me more selfless and more aware of my selfishness.  She has made me proud and more aware of my pride.  I think she’s just making me better.

What do you hope for your children?

I want her to know she is loved deeply regardless of what she does or doesn’t do.  I think that’s a pretty good springboard onto whatever else is important in life.

What do you fear for them?

Honestly.  It might be strange, but I most fear that if something should happen to me while she’s little she’ll never know first-hand how much her Mommy loves her.  I just want her to know that practically, tangibly, daily — all of the time. That and that she’ll never want to learn to use the potty, because she seems pretty happy to sit in her own poop.

What makes it all worthwhile?

Her cheeky, chubby-faced grin.  Makes it worthwhile EVERY.TIME.

One thought on “Ma-Ma-Ma-Ma-Ma Mama

  1. Deborah

    Love your responses, I totally agree with how motherhood changes you. I also worry about the same thing you mentioned. I hate thinking that if something should happen to me while they are little they would never really know how much I love/loved them. I’ve written letters and a baby book type journal for that purpose, but its still pretty scary. Also I hate the idea of someone besides me raising them because well you know, no one else would do it like I’d do it (but then again maybe they’d do better!) 😉 The other thing I fear about not being around is that they’d be the stinky kids, because I think my husband would forget to give regular baths and do proper grooming…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

