Residing

I have lived in England for over seven years.  This November marks my eighth Thanksgiving amongst the Redcoats and yet still I’m not technically a resident.  Since moving here I have had four visas, three of which were work visas, and my current one which is my marriage visa.  I have posted off form after form, innumerable types of proof of identity, travelled to cities to prove that I am actually marrying The Native because I love him and not as a as a hot ticket into the UK (oooooor did I? Muwahaha), I have had my biometric data taken so they can stalk identify me easily, and the pinnacle was taking a TEST to get a certificate of approval to go through with the marriage.  A TEST!  I had to study!  That is love, people (or do I just love tests?!  Muwahaha).  I don’t want to knock the test too much, because clearly, it is really effective in helping to assess whether people can adapt to living here (read: I just re-took it and got a 33%).

Study Book: Image via amazon.com

 Take a practice test here.

 And now I am waiting for my last and final visa to be accepted.  This visa will mean that a time limit isn’t put on my stay here, but instead I have the right to live here indefinitely, which is good since, you know, my husband and baby are here.  And this all for the bargain price of £972 with the added cost of your soul.

So, I continue to wait, and quite impatiently, as I’d really like to make a family trip to The States for Christmas so that I can introduce The Duchess to family and friends she hasn’t met yet, but instead I remain a prisoner of the UK right now while they process my application with the reassuring statistic that they do process 95% of applications within 6 months.  At that rate, maybe I’ll see everyone by Easter!

In other news: I’m now on Twitter.  If you’re a fellow twit, follow me @expatparent.

I’m blog hopping. So grab a cup of tea, coffee, your favourite cold beverage and have a little look-see through some other blogs to see if any of them tickle your fancy over at Salt&Caramel. 

9 thoughts on “Residing

  1. Lindsay Borland

    girl – i submitted my application for residency in new zealand recently. no test was required just stacks and stacks of paper proving that rob and i are in a “geniune and stable partership” – marriage does not prove that here – and it takes them 12-18 MONTHS to process it! so in the mean time i have had to apply for my 4th work visa in as many years. our respective immigration departments are making some sweet mulla off of us!

    Reply
  2. Christy Staats

    You only got a 33% on your retake!? You FORGOT all that wonderful info we learned about every Henry and George and Charles this country has ever had and what the difference between the EU, ECC, European Parliament and European commission and where they all meet?!?!?! I can’t belieeeeve you have left geekdom with me for just plain British knowledge of their country!

    I hope you get your passport back soon. The residency is a very exciting sticker to have in there! 🙂

    Reply
      1. Christy Staats

        I am a terrible test taker. But I do study to learn. So once it’s in, it’s in. I played a pub quiz with my whole team over breakfast at our staff retreat. Title of the round “what I know about your country that you probably don’t know” I asked them questions for 30 minutes and then proceeded to tell them the right answers. hahahaha.

  3. mmelindor

    I took that test a while back and failed miserably. If I ever want to return to UK, I will have to hope that they don’t test me.

    Great blog, I really like your writing style and look forward to reading more.

    Reply
  4. Michelloui

    I took the practice test about a year or two ago and got maybe 50%. Maybe. I am still undecided on whether or not I should get citizenship anyway!

    Enjoying your blog, have just found you through Salt & Caramel! Always great to meet another expat 🙂

    Reply
    1. Living Life as an Expat Parent Post author

      Michelle, thank you! I am so impressed at how established your blog is. Any tips or advice you could throw my way will always be welcome and appreciated. We should definitely talk through the pros and cons of citizenship sometime. I’m considering it, but then another part of me thinks, ‘Flip! I have the right to reside, so why throw another £1000+ at the Home Office.’ This expat thing is super expensive!

      Reply
      1. Michelloui

        Exactly! Why spend money on something that may or may not improve our lives?! Although it would potentially make re-entry after a holiday or trip home a bit smoother.

Leave a Reply

