SONY DSC

Now That It’s Over – Happy Holidays!

We are back on UK soil.  It has been great to exchange work and the responsibilities of life for exploring New York, lazing around in my pajamas in my parent’s house, and eating my own weight in takeaways.   SONY DSC

Time away has been good for me.  It’s been good for us.  Parts of the trip stripped me of all of the energy I possessed, but parts restored my spirit and refreshed my soul in just the way I needed.  We’re honestly pretty sad to be back.   Sure, a little bit of it is post holiday blues (both  Christmas and vacation), but these funny and familiar feelings have reminded me, once again, about the challenges of living this weird expat life.   It’s a longing for a home that doesn’t exist anymore because time and living as a foreigner have changed you.    And yet, the questions still linger.  What if I returned and loved it?    What if it’s exactly where I’m meant to be?

It is never easy, but we are certainly glad to have family and friends on both sides of the Atlantic that make the decision so hard.

Hoping that you and yours have had a very merry Christmas and wishing you a great year ahead!

From our jetlagged family to yours.

From our jetlagged family to yours.

2 thoughts on “Now That It’s Over – Happy Holidays!

    1. Living Life as an Expat Parent Post author

      Hi there! Happy New Year to you, too. You have an exciting year in store. :)

      Suspect a straight answer isn’t there. I have found I miss my family more now that I have a child of my own. I see how much they love her and their time with her and I feel awful when I can’t offer more.

      It is really tough when you feel that wherever you choose to live, you’d always miss the people in the other place.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

